Gambling with music

01Dec09

I have been invested in taking a gamble of late. You see The Black Keys, one of my favorite bands in the history of Grant, have released a brand new CD, and it’s a doozie. If you are unfamiliar with the work of the Keys, first off the bat…no they are not the Black Eyed Peas. Please tell this to my mother who only but a year and a half ago told everybody she knew that I was going to visit the Mad Scientist in Chicago and we were going to see a Black Eyed Peas concert. If there is ever anyone who can destroy your credibility in music taste its your parents. I have never enjoyed the music of the so-called “BEP”, but I can see how a parent could see the similarity, after all a two-piece blues rock duo has just so much in common with four fame-desperate hip-hopster morons who crave attention more then Yogi Bear craves pic-a-nic baskets. On another thought, parents never seem to remember the stuff you currently listen to, but they always remember the crap you used to listen to when you were a child; sing-along tapes, the Power Rangers movie soundtrack, Leann Rimes, etc.

Where was I…oh yeah, how the Black Keys reek of awesomeness. Dan Auerbach (Guitar, Vocals) and Patrick Carney (Drums, Not Vocals) take a low-fi, bluesy interpretation on rock ‘n roll. If you know who Junior Kimbrough is, think like that. If not, the closet thing that I can tell you is that, it’s like a throwback to Jimi Hendrix, very solo-oriented and technically brilliant. I own all of the Black Keys albums, I have enjoyed everyone. But this new album has me a bit worried, because the lead vox on each track are done by a rap star rather then Dan Auerbach.

You see I’m not the biggest fan of hip-hop, that is not even close to describing how much hatred I have for a once creative genre that has let itself go to tracks about bragging about your dick size or gun size or using your gun as a dick, you get the idea. But I have of late been a little more accepting of more “artsy” rappers. Heck, I’ll even listen to a little Wu-Tang if the feeling strikes me. But buying an entire album simply because the backing instrumentals are provided by one of my favorite bands? It’s a hard call. Though they have picked good people like the RZA, Raekwon, and Mos Def, not all music fusions really work. Think for a second about the ill-fated emo-synth band, Enter Shikari, oh so terrible. So I still pay for all my music (yeah, I’m a dinosaur, shoot me), so this is hard to consider whether or not it’s worth the ten bucks. Here’s a strange thought, the opening track is missing on the iTunes version. Strange.

No Responses Yet to “Gambling with music”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

